Fear and Loathing in De Anza College, pt. 4

A minor update this time, as I was unavailable for today’s meeting, by dint of having to catch the last bus home instead. Wednesday’s the last meeting concerning the disqualification of Josh Chou and Marlo Custodio – as it happens, that’s also the first night of production for this week. I will have the preliminary outcomes then.

As for what information I scrounged up today, it seems as if Custodio made a strong enough case to convince four of the election committee members to side with him. I don’t have sufficient information regarding exactly how many people there are on said committee, but for the two times I’ve been to one of their meetings, it’s never been more than five or six people total – I’m choosing to interpret this as a majority consensus, barring a surprise boost to their numbers at this last meeting.

I’m also going to bet that neither Terrell Sterling nor Peter Lin were in favor.

The animosity between Sterling and Custodio is well known. Custodio has been an outspoken critic of what he perceives to be a lack of real leadership from Sterling since Sterling replaced former DASB president Robin Claasen – who did not so much transfer out of De Anza as he was kicked out for conduct unbecoming a student council president.

While it isn’t clear what bone Peter Lin has to pick with the Students United group, it is fairly clear that he must have something against them. The case against Lin’s conduct is set upon two occasions: the first being that he was the one that motioned for a charge of libel against Custodio (shot down – the case was insultingly unwarranted), the second being what he stated on public record. Though the case against Chou has yet to have been finalized, it seems as if Lin has already set his verdict. To quote the school paper, “according to Inter-Club Council co-chair Peter Lin, the likelihood of their disqualification is ‘100 percent.'”

Seriously, what the hell does this guy have against them? My own speculations ranges far and wide – this is, after all, a student election, so rather than having a lack of reasons, he probably has many. Perhaps he, himself, was a target of criticism by Custodio – or, given the tight-knit clique that makes up most student governments, he’s friends with somebody on the opposition side. Or maybe he really is just doing what he thinks is right.

Not betting on the latter. Though intelligence isn’t necessary for leadership, I do expect that anybody willing to bring up a charge as serious as libel will first do their homework to see what does or doesn’t constitute as defamation. The fact that his case had so many grevious holes in it is a strong indicator of malice on his side, and a willingness to play dirty politics – and given his public statement on a trial that has yet ended, I’d bet sound money that the guy has it out for Custodio and Chou.

Meanwhile, Chavez had made a quip about my recommended tactics being somewhat… “Nazi” in its insistence on unformity amongst the Student Union when facing the current councilmembers. And he might be right. I was urging them to kick Mo off the ballot entirely, but their decision to make him make a public apology is really more sensible, and less likely to instigate further drama.

Ah well. The difference between me and most politicians is that I’ll publicly and sincerely admit when I’m wrong just as often as when I’m right. I’d rather they have trust in my integrity than in any alleged flawlessness of my strategies and advise.

Besides, my role is as the trickster in this little school drama. I’m not supposed to win every battle – I’m supposed to see what everybody else’s missing.

~ by Gonzo Mehum on May 19, 2009.

4 Responses to “Fear and Loathing in De Anza College, pt. 4”

  1. I can only guess that this incident is good training for those who will become politicians later on in life. Yikes.

  2. Or political journalists. Glee~

    Also, I just realized the irony of calling this a short update when it broke the 500 word mark…

  3. Considering it is politics, 500 words is short. Especially since most of them need 5000 to begin to scratch the surface.

  4. By the time it’s all over, the cumulative word total probably will get close to that mark, yeah.

Leave a Reply

 
