10k Views, and FanimeCon 2k9 pt. 1

Thanks for the image, Pimmy!

10,000 hits! Thanks for the image, Pimmy!

LADIES AND GENTLEMEN

WE HAVE REACHED 10,000 HITS.

It took a while, and I apologize for that. I realized, at least intellectually, that my hits would die to just about nothing when I started the multipart coverage of my school’s political fiascos. Simply put, the gross majority of my audience – you – are primarily otaku. The blog’s gotten to the point that you outnumber my friends that read this!

Mind you, it’s not the politics I apologize for, but the fact that I had to bore so many of you in the meantime. To what I am  sure is to the immense relief of both of my primary reader demographics, the blog will eventually get divided in two: for many reasons, I cannot simply choose to write politics or otaku culture at the expense of the other, but I can split the blog in twain. The Thoughtscream will narrow its focus to primarily politics and related subjects, but the eventual Geekscream blog will probably be garnering most of the hits.

None of the above will be implemented until I finish that long-delayed server move, of course, but June is coming up soon, and with it the much anticipated end of my stint as technology editor for the school paper. Not that I haven’t (sometimes) enjoyed the responsibilities that comes with the job, but it did prove to me that I am definitely more of a writer than I am an editor.

But enough with that noise! It is Memorial Day Weekend, and all San jose Bay Area geeks knows exactly what that means. FanimeCon is back in town, bringing in its wake tons and tons of fabric, wooden swords, and geeks in all stripes, shapes, colors (boy, the colors), and even – gasp – gender! What wonders, if any, will this year’s convention bring?

A surprising number, oddly.

Fanime is never short on quality - and QUALITY - cosplays. This is definitely an example of the former.

Fanime is never short on quality - and QUALITY - cosplays. This is definitely an example of the former.

Fanime, for me and friends, is often the only time we can interact without technological aid. The post-high school life has scattered many of us in disparate directions, and though the wonders of the modern communications age has made keeping tabs on each other literal child’s play, sometimes the best way to affirm your friendship is to dump twelve of you into a cramped hotel room for three nights.

I highly recommend this, actually – though admittedly not the most physically comfortable of shelters, it has two big advantages in its favor: you get much weirder conversations this way, and it’s cheap. In no othe way can you get a hotel room to be as low as thirty bucks an individual. The fiscal factor is always a big part of the decision-making process.

I’ve also gotten a chance to met up with Roscoe Mathieu, the author of Thoughtscream’s two political guest entries. I wasn’t kidding when I wrote up his bio descriptions – the guy is an amazingly affable and hilarious weird human being, if less likely to grope you when drunk than sober. He introduced me to the pleasures of Chartreuse – an herbal tonic with an amazing body, and an absolutely lethal proof. It tastes quite a lot like a forest in the middle of spring, and a plasma jet across the tongue.

As you can imagine, such a beverage made Friday kind of glaze over. However, I can say with fair certainty that, though a bit sparse this year, the Artist Alley is nonetheless in good strength. High quality fan art is a rarity, no mater how many DeviantArtists try to convince you that they’re the exception – but my overall impression of the artists there was highly favorable. And envious. Though my plan was to sketch and practice during my off-hours this FanimeCon, my ability to do so was hampered by the relative lack of free time, and, of course, the Nintendo DS.

What really makes FanimeCon stand out,  however, is the otherwise traditional cosplay masquerade – of which had actually traditioally been a bit of a point of shame. Last year’s was an outright fiasco – with six cases of Hare Hare Yukai, and only slightly less for the Lucky Star dance, and Caramelldansen. Though this year saw an over-prevalence of “You Lost The Game,” the signal-to-noise ratio was, to paraphrase Keith, decidedly much better this year. Except for the two Tsubasa skits, each were distinct and original from each other – and the quality of the Tsubasa skits won them both the highest awards. Frankly, however, the fan favorite was neither – the two-man song-and-dance to the tune of the first season English-language opening song of Pokemon was of such quality and enthusiasm that the crowd did something I’ve never seen FanimeCon do:

A long, loud, standing ovation.

It’s only halfway over, and I’m already missing this year. The masquerade attendance was the biggest it’s ever been, the skits were awesome, the artists were great, and the male-female ratio has been getting better and better every year. It’s great to be a geek-

-wait, what? The panels? What about the- SHIT, I NEVER ATTENDED A PANEL!

Uh. Erm.

I’ll… I’ll get back to you on that on the next post.

~ by Gonzo Mehum on May 24, 2009.

2 Responses to “10k Views, and FanimeCon 2k9 pt. 1”

  1. Panels are important, but it’s always tough to do everything, especially when you’re meeting up with friends. I wound up skipping the gaming at Anime North this year on account of hanging out with friends that I don’t get to see outside of the con. Did you meet up with any of the other bloggers?

  2. Alas not. Mainly because I didn’t really make the effort to. I spent most of my time with friends, and getting my drink on with the staff of an english-language VN circle (not KS).

Leave a Reply

 
