FanimeCon 2010: Saturday Impressions

I get nostalgic about Fanime while at Fanime. A bit odd as a juxtaposition, but nonetheless true. It’s a matter of realizing exactly how uncommon it actually is for me to feel this … hm. Hard to find the word for it. Carefree is kinda it. Content isn’t, but facets of it exists within the general concept. It’s the sort of feeling you get when, even if you don’t personally know a whole lot of people in a crowd, you’re sure you’re going to have a perfectly good time that weekend.

Folks that’ve gone to music festivals probably know what I’m talking about. It’s a certain sense of camaraderie, vastly distinct from the life you lead outside the timeframe of the convention, festival or event.

The nostalgic thing, I suppose, is the realization that a timeframe is bound and finite. And real life is only a few days away.

I didn’t always feel this way about cons, though it’s definitely been my stance for the last couple of years now. I suspect it’s something all folks of this cultural persuasion go through: the initial excitement of something New! and Interesting! and Different! you find as a middleschool congoer, seeing cosplays and dealer’s hall of nothing but goods targeted at the japanophile is what hooks you. But New! and Different! only lasts for the first couple of years – and especially if there’s the slightest amount of disruption to the convention’s proceedings, the third or fourth year start to take on a more tarnished outlook  – you kind of get bored of it. After a while, you might even decide not to go anymore – when FanimeCon first moved to the San Jose Convention Center, I think I nearly grew out of it.

But familiarity doesn’t always breed contempt. I mis FanimeCon when it isn’t going on, and now I think I enjoy it a bit more thoroughly, even if I don’t go to the panels nearly as often as I used to.  I get flashbacks when I see younger congoers – and no matter how jaded I get, I still squee like a fanboy when a near-perfect Zaku cosplayer walks by (gotta love the guys that opt for armor – boobs are great, but so are war machines). Plus, the social aspect of it is increasingly more important every year. Some of these guys, I don’t get to hang around for any extended period of time outside of conventions.

Oh, I know what the word I was looking for was: I’m happy at Fanime. Happy not as event, not as an exclamation, but as a state of being. Life’s hard, and there aren’t nearly enough geeks (and scantily clad geekettes) in real life. FanimeCon recharges my interest in the world.

It also seems to make me luckier than usual. I just won a free ticket to the “Disappearance of Suzumiya Haruhi” San Francisco showing from the Viz Media booth. Well, go figure!

~ by Gonzo Mehum on May 29, 2010.

One Response to “FanimeCon 2010: Saturday Impressions”

  1. “You go to your first con for curiosity. You go to your second for content. You go to your third because all your old friends are there.” – Starluck

Leave a Reply

 
