Thought Process Interruption

I was going to write more about my thoughts on the construction of a “proper” digital novel, but then I ran into a certain New York Times article.

I got distracted.

It’s, uh, fair to say that I flew off the handles a bit. Though even as I’m cooling down, I still feel fully justified in my outrage. My identity as an American, and the cultural baggages that entails, is intrinsically rooted upon the promises of liberty made to its citizenry. I do not feel, and will not budge on this, that those promises are mere “political propositions.”

I do not enjoy being told that those points are, in fact, negotiable.

~ by Gonzo Mehum on August 16, 2010.

3 Responses to “Thought Process Interruption”

  1. Regardless of the truth value of it?

    Not saying you’re wrong, by the way – someone who really believes those things should be negotiable deserves remedial civics and possibly an “English! Do you speak it, motherfucker?!” to boot.

    But the sad underlying truth is that unless the people really believe in those things, someone can make all the laws they want and those people will find a way around is as much as they can.

  2. There is no true value to it. There’s either whether the rest of the population is willing to defend these fundamental aspects of American liberty, or whether they’re willing to vote against their own self-interest and sell themselves to the gallows.

    I don’t think the sort of people that sneer at concepts like tolerance and liberty truly understand the implications of their advocacy. At all. And, frankly, that level of short-sightedness doesn’t deserve mainstream press~

  3. It’s a dichotomy war once again! “Either you’re with us, or against us.”

    It’s quite ironic that the trend I see globally (America isn’t the only country with new immigrants vs. “indigenous cultural majority” debate) is towards a homocentric, homo-cultural nation, where ambiguity is none.

    Everybody is playing too much into the W40K universe I see.

Leave a Reply

 
