Updates and a Response

Wow, haven’t updated in a while. Um. No real excuse – I’ve just not been feeling like writing much. Happens once in a while – sometimes I go on productive streaks, sometimes my muse takes an extended vacation.

At least I’m finally employed!

Anyhow, the last update was lengthy, thinky, and didn’t get much attention except, apparently, from one rather outraged dude. It’s a little late, but anybody that took their time to respond to this obscure a blog, angrily or not, deserves some attention.

To reader Jimmox, I have a short response:

A. See the italics, read the linked article on WEIRDness, and understand that I’m accusing the author of having an EIRD-based worldview. Not that he’s white. The use of whiteness in WEIRD is merely a side effect of the western monoculture and its European origins – it’s the concepts that matter, and whether or not they fit the person in question. Given that he writes from the perspective of an educated, western individual with a relatively affluent background, he still fits the psychological profile in question – and therefore is subject to the shortcomings and blind points of a worldview dependent on a WEIRD-specific background.

B. It’s cute that you think utilizing an argument-from-authority fallacy makes your points persuasive in any way. People herd to ideas that sympathize with their prejudices – numbers and blogs written in support of something only indicates support and the quantities thereof, not of the soundness of the arguments made. And there is no soundness in the “Futurist’s” screed against the political empowerment of a traditionally maltreated gender.

C. Did you read anything of what I’ve written on the subject, or was the idea that misogyny was and is still a bad thing just too much to stomach on its own? Seriously?

Anyhow, with that out of the way – again, I’m employed! Fuck yeah! Not the greatest job in the world, but it’s full-time, it’s not particularly demeaning or unethical, it doesn’t deal with customer interaction, and while occasionally repetitive, it pays well enough for me not to care about that.

It’s also game-related, so expect some posts on the subject some time in the future. Nothing related to my work – you will NOT find me amongst the sad, pathetic cases of bloggers, tweeters and facebookers that get fired because they make public, written works subject to libel laws online, and forget that their boss knows how to Google just as well, if not better, than they do. That, and I’m in no hurry to break the NDA.

But you might see me review their competitor’s products more often. And make more thoughts about the state of the industry, theories of game design, and a few notes on my own ambitions in relation to it all.

Y’know. Stuff.

~ by Gonzo Mehum on March 16, 2011.

One Response to “Updates and a Response”

  1. First off I would like to say fantastic blog! I had a quick question in which I’d like to
    ask if you don’t mind. I was interested to
    know how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing.
    I’ve had a hard time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts
    out there. I truly do enjoy writing however it just seems like the first 10
    to 15 minutes are usually wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any ideas or tips?
    Appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

 
